Getting The (Golden) Boot!

The last Englishman to win the coveted Golden Boot in the fight for the Premier League’s top goal-scoring prize was Kevin Phillips, way back in the 1999 – 2000 season, when he put 30 in the net for Sunderland.

The closest anyone has come since has been Wayne Rooney twice, in the ‘11 – ‘12 season with 27 and in ‘09 – ‘10 with 26.

In total, only six Englishmen have scored more than 20 Premier League goals in any one season since Phillips took the award 13 years ago.

Last season it was Holland’s Robin van Persie who stole the show as an Arsenal player. His 30-goal tally in 2011 – ’12 in the Premier League put him ahead of the rest of the field playing on English soil – a total he added to with five goals in the Champions League and a brace in the FA Cup.

Fifty Goals in La Liga
But it was all a far cry from Barcelona’s Lionel Messi – the little Argentinean took the European Golden Boot with an amazing 50 goals in Spain’s La Liga….bringing his total for the footballing year in all competitions to a staggering 73.

From its inception in 1992 up until 1997, the Premier League ‘s Golden Boot was won by an Englishman – Teddy Sheringham, Andy Cole, Alan Shearer three years running, and – jointly – Chris Sutton, Michael Owen and Dion Dublin.

Owen was again the joint recipient of the title the year before Kevin Phillips became the last Englishman ever to claim the award.

Title holders since Phillips’ historic win have included Thierry Henry of France four times, his compatriot Nicolas Anelka, Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast) twice, Portugal’s Christiano Ronaldo, and Manchester’s Carlos Tevez (Argentina) and Dimitar Berbatov (Bulgaria,) jointly for City and United respectively in 2010 -‘11.

Leading League Scorers
There’s a long way to go until the end of the 2012 – ‘13 season, but so far these are the Premier League’s leading goal scorers and contenders for the golden prize – none of them are Englishmen:

Robin Van Persie (Manchester United) – 16

Luis Suárez (Liverpool) – 15

Dema Ba (Newcastle) – 13

Miguel Pérez Cuesta aka Michu (SwanseaCity) – 13

Out-of-form Wayne Rooney is well down the field on seven.

  • So how many Englishmen have won the European equivalent of the Golden Boot since its inception 45 years ago?

The answer is just one – the self-same Kevin Phillips of Sunderland in 1999 -2000.

Scotland’s Ally McCoist has won it twice, in ’91 – ‘92 and ’92 – ‘93, and Ian Rush and David Taylor of Wales, in 1983 – ‘84 and 1993 – ‘94 respectively.

Nicki Williams is a copy writer for Gear-Zone, on-line sports and outdoor specialists and stockists of major brands including Adidas, Nike, The North Face and Rab

Click here for further information

Picture source: Compfight

Leave a Reply